Vegetables Make a Great Breakfast Too

The key to a great day is a great breakfast.  Seriously, what better time to make sure you’re well on your way to a satisfied daily quota of fruits, vegetables and fiber than first thing in the morning?

Here’s how I get an easy, vegan and (almost) raw start that makes me feel great no matter what the rest of the day brings:

Grab a pint-sized ball jar (or comparable reused jar). Best way to transport food hands down.

Assemble the mixable components:

  • Something green (e.g. kale, collards, spinach, beet greens, etc)
  • Something sweet (e.g. 1/2 an apple, pear, or orange, etc)
  • Something smooth (e.g. 1/2 a banana, a scoop of nonfat yogurt, etc)
  • Something spicy (e.g. cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, cardamom, a pitted date, etc)
  • Something serous (e.g. a heavy splash of almond or soy milk, orange juice, water, etc)
  • Something berry unexpected (I always try to throw something of color into the mix, be it 1/2 a carrot, a handful of frozen blueberries, and/or a couple grapes — whatever is on hand!)
  • Optionally, something strapping (basically protein powder, if you so wish)

Next, summon the high-power blender gods by lighting incense and chanting “Vitaman” while spinning three times in front of your refrigerator.

Keep that going for a minute or two, and assemble the dry:

  • 1 tbs psyllium husks (an amazing supplement that packs a huge insoluble fiber punch, lowers bad cholesterol levels and sops up liquid, making your smoothie into a yummy porridge :))
  • 1/2 tbs oat bran
  • sprinkle of flax seed
  • 1/2 cup high-fiber, low-sugar dry cereal (I prefer a combo of puffed kamut and Kashi Go Lean)

Add the psyllium husks, oat bran and flax seed to the bottom of your jar.  Package the dry cereal in a separate small container or baggie to maintain the crunch-factor for assembly time.

Pour the veggie mixture over the psyllium in your jar and make sure to give ‘er a good shake to get those psyllium husks mixed in and absorbin’!

Pour that sucker out into a bowl, top with the crunchy dry cereal and damn will you be power-packed to take on the rest of your day.  Guaranteed to keep you greened and regular – just the way I like it.

Not to mention, it turns out to be a different color very time!  Make it a game and have your co-workers guess what each day will bring: Green?!  Red?!  Putrid brown?!  What fun!

8 thoughts on “Vegetables Make a Great Breakfast Too

  1. Yo, Emily! First off, I love your blog. Second, this looks really interesting. I haven’t tried psyllium before but I’m putting it on my shopping list.

    1. Thanks! I’m a big fan of yours as well…so funny we’re just sitting unknowingly 2 hours away from one another writing about super similar pursuits! And I totally recommend Psyllium, with reservations. I should mention that the recommended method for taking it as a supplement is mixing 2 tbs of it in water. It’s hard to describe what happens, but basically you get a lumpy, slimy, liquidy goop that tastes quite a bit like water mixed with sawdust. NOT pleasant. That’s why I’ve endeavored to come up with another way to take it! Masked by the fruit and veggies it makes a smoothie into a nice spoon-able porridge-like treat 🙂 Hard to get used to, but SO worth a try!

  2. hey emily! not in a critical sense, but do u ever feel TOO healthy? do you know what i mean…?
    like maybe your body’s getting pampered.. spoiled, for lack of a better word, by the complete and utter lack of non-sense digestibles it encounters?
    I know you’ve been eating healthily for a while, so have you ever felt a need to give your body a rest from the 100% nutritional support you supply and toughen it up a bit.. make it deal with a few doughnuts, a cheeseburger, perhaps some enriched white pasta for a meal or two?
    my concern is maybe it’s getting too soft…
    do u need a pringle? is this backwards? im lost…
    or wait.. is the answer to my question, beer?

    ❤ cordelia

    1. Hahaha that advice is either 100% right or 100% wrong, and I’m not sure which. I hope that the copious amounts of beer and cheese I consume on a regular though not daily basis keep my digestive system from going to prissy on me. Let’s hang out soon! I’m feeling pool/darts lately. ❤ back from Emily.

    2. Emily! Im replying to my own comment cuz i was just in the shower and thought of the answer!
      French fries, fried reeses cups, fried ice cream… its things we do to our bodies to feed our HEAD/soul..
      So, yes you may need a pringle (if that makes you happy), but no, your body doesn’t need a pringle (even tho they’re baked).
      whew glad i worked that one out. thanks
      see u tonight hopefurry!

  3. Em – I love your blog! We have such similar tastes.

    As for psyllium, you are so right about application. I tried gagging it down in water and it has to be the worst thing I’ve ever attempted to drink. I love this idea! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

