Go Pig or Go Home at Alla Spina

When I do eat meat, I like to go big.  Or in this case, pig.

Last night during our first foray out to the hip, happening–you know, GQ-approved–new spot from Philadelphia’s beloved Marc Vetri, Alla Spina, there was no way I was going to resist the chalk-scrawled depiction of a pig’s head on the specials blackboard. I never pass up an opportunity to try something new. Especially when it’s a true snout to tail eating.

We were greeted by this fellow:

And, well, all I can say is that we quite enthusiastically welcomed him to the table:

So, as you can see by the lack of brains and eyeballs in that pile of debris, this experiment in “will I be able to survive when we finally make it to Mongolia for my dream trek across the steppe” was a complete and total success. Yum!

No seriously, yum. Eyeballs are delicious.

2 thoughts on “Go Pig or Go Home at Alla Spina

  1. I had the whole suckling pig at Amada for my birthday this year and, while we didn’t get any eyeballs, the rest of the head was delicious. I was especially a fan of the brain and the cheeks.

    1. Agreed on cheeks and brain – also ahhhmazing. The brain reminded me of a non-fishy monkfish liver in the best way. More cred for the eyes though – I heard through the grapevine that the chef’s italian grandmother always goes for the sockets first!

Leave a Reply

